downtown ratepayers, how change happens

downtown ratepayers, how change happens


The ratepayer of Downtown Tacoma make everything we do possible.  Every 10 years since 1988, downtown property owners have voted to assess themselves an annual fee to provide services above and beyond those available through the City.  In 2021 the annual rates are $0.12/sf of building area (with a ½ rate for parking and warehouse facilities) and $0.05/sf of land area.

Recent history

Formed as the Local Development Council/Business Improvement Area in 1988 under RCW 35.87A , property owners voted overwhelmingly to renew the organization’s mandate in 2018.  With over 99% of votes received in support of renewal as well as geographic and service expansion and a 75% turnout, the Downtown Tacoma Partnership feels confident in moving forward to continue improving Downtown Tacoma.


Established through a City of Tacoma ordinance, the Downtown Tacoma Partnership is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors made up of property owners and their representatives.  Our Board brings a wealth of experience and passion to Downtown Tacoma.  From professional services to retail and from real estate to the arts, our board members represent a variety of organizations and residential buildings.

& staff

Like our board and ratepayers, the Downtown Tacoma Partnership staff shares a love of downtown and a desire to make a difference in our community. All team members are aligned around a singular mission: to make Downtown Tacoma safe, clean, & welcoming.

2022/23 Annual

The Downtown Tacoma Partnership Board of Directors meets monthly to review progress on annual goals and identify rising issues.  These meetings are open to all ratepayers.  In addition, DTP hosts an annual ratepayer meeting. The next meeting is on Thursday, February 24th at 3:30PM via Zoom. Please email for Zoom meeting details.  We will review and approve the next year’s budget and scope of work.  Below are the documents from the most recent annual meeting.

learn more

If you’d like to learn more about the work we do or have questions beyond those we can answer here, please feel free to reach out to us.

board members

board of directors


Rane Shaub
Shaub Ellison, LLC

Vice President & Treasurer

Tom Pierson
Tacoma Pierce County Chamber


Ben Mauk
University of Washington Tacoma

Safe and Clean Chair

Judee Encinias
Davita, Inc.

Marketing Chair

Blaine Johnson
Passages Partnership

Kurt Ertel
Courtyard by Mariot

Phyllis Harrison
The Art Stop & Le Roy Jeweler

Theodore Johnson
Simon Johnson, LLC

Trina Jones
Trina Jones Photography

Dan Putnam
Pacific Plaza, LLC

Shannon Tiegs
Tiegs Property Services LLC

Jason Whalen
Ledger Square Law


Executive Director

David Schroedel
Downtown Tacoma Partnership


Jim Burgess
Downtown Tacoma Partnership


Emily Verdonk
Downtown Tacoma Partnership

Designated City Official

Debbie Bingham
Community & Econ Dev Dept

Downtown Retail Advocate

JD Elquist
Downtown Tacoma Partnership

annual reports